汤姆·佛利(Tom Foley)。
英国字体总监。

他如是说。

字体是我们视觉文化的基础,也是所有图形设计和品牌塑造的核心组成部分。 如果举措得当,字体可以为品牌、设计系统或布局提供无与伦比的价值。

汤姆·佛利(Tom Foley)是Monotype的英国字体设计总监,并负责领导一个字体设计师团队为Monotype字体库和企业品牌创建字体。 汤姆的血液里流淌着文字和字母——他的曾祖父来自一个专门从事字母雕刻的石匠家庭,而他的叔叔是一个标志画家。

汤姆学生时期在家乡就上过美术课,后来在世界著名的伦敦艺术大学中央圣马丁分校学习平面设计。他还学习了Foundry Types的弗雷达·萨克(Freda Sack)的字体设计,以补充他的平面设计课程。

汤姆在Dalton Maag字体设计公司工作了七年,从字体开发员晋升到创意总监,并致力于解决一些世界知名品牌的印刷问题。他于2018年7月加入Monotype,并继续从事字体定制工作,并领导伦敦Monotype办公室的字体设计师团队。

Tom Foley

Tom Foley.
UK Type Director.

In his words.

I think there is an element of escapism in Type Design which I really enjoy. Designing a typeface is like going down a rabbit hole, a warm and quiet rabbit hole where you can’t hear the constant buzz of reality.”

Tom Foley is the UK Type Director for Monotype, and in his role, is responsible for leading a team of type designers creating fonts for the Monotype Library and corporate brands. Words and letters are in Tom’s blood - his great-grandfather was from a family of stonemasons that specialized in letter carving, and his uncle was a sign painter.

Tom was at home in Art class as a student and went on to study Graphic Design at the world-renowned University of the Arts London, Central Saint Martins. He also studied type design under Freda Sack of Foundry Types to supplement his graphic design coursework. 

Tom spent seven years at type foundry Dalton Maag where he progressed from font developer to creative director, and worked to solve the typographical problems of some of the world’s well-known brands. He joined Monotype in July of 2018, and he continues to work on custom fonts, and leading his team of type designers from the Monotype office in London.

Tom Foley